Bespoke diamonds feel more natural on your skin, we believe that having a bespoke diamond is the ultimate statement of ones uniqueness.

Jacob Oliver will partner you and help elicit your needs, when looking at the ‘four Cs of diamonds’

Click on the links for more info.

The way a diamond is shaped can be one of the most important factors when choosing your jewellery, completely altering the statement you make with your stone. Different diamond shapes give wholly different impressions, some cuts are elegant and give a quiet, mysterious glow, while others provide dramatic sparkle.


Diamonds are without a doubt some of the most beautiful naturally occurring objects on earth. With every gem stone taking millions of years to form, each resulting diamond is truly unique, with subtle but important differences that help determine their value and radiance, both of which dictate one of the most important traits of any diamond: clarity.

Clarity is defined under a specific set of parameters that are known to any jeweller. This diamond clarity chart is ranked as follows:

Flawless (abbreviated as FL or IF) Diamonds have no external or internal flaws and as such are the most sought after – highest valued stones available.
Very very slightly included (VVS1 or VVS2) Diamonds have defects however these are considered small enough that detection under 10X magnification is difficult.
Very slightly included (VS1 or VS2) refers to stones with defects that are difficult to spot with the naked eye.
Slightly included (Sl1 or Sl2) will have imperfections that can be scrutinised with the naked eye.
Included (I1 I2 or I3) Those with the most internal and external flaws.

Naturally coloured diamonds are precious stones that have a tint or hue caused by natural processes in its development. Formed when foreign particles are present during the crystallisation process, the white gem takes on a coloured hue. Heat and pressure is also able to alter the colouring of a diamond. This article takes a look at the different shades along the diamond colour scale, and the processes unique to their creation.

Green Diamonds
Green diamonds are formed due the stone being exposed to natural radiation within the soil located just before the earth’s crust, known as the continental crust. This natural radiation is what causes the diamond to reflect red and yellow light, and therefore give the diamond a green hue.

Violet and Purple Diamonds
Purple diamonds are created as a result of lattice distortion within the stone. New studies are revealing that the presence of hydrogen during the crystallisation process may also result in diamonds gaining a purple or violet tint.

Orange and Yellow Diamonds
Diamonds that are naturally yellow or orange in colour are created when nitrogen is present during the crystallisation process. Nitrogen atoms arrange in such a way during the diamond’s formation that blue light is absorbed, and gives the diamond a yellow tint. The resulting, often brilliantly coloured, yellow stones are also known as Canary Diamonds. Orange diamonds are created in a similar way using a specific nitrogen formation which absorbs both the blue and yellow light to produce an orange stone.

Grey and Blue Diamonds
Boron is the active element which creates blue coloured diamonds. The boron bonds to the carbon within the crystalline structure to absorb red, green and yellow in the colour spectrum and produces a blue diamond.

Brown, Red and Pink Diamonds
These diamonds get their natural colour from the intense pressure and heat which is applied during the formation process. The heat and pressure causes distortion within the crystal lattice, which is what absorbs green light and therefore gives the stone a pink, red or brown hue.

Beyond the above shades, natural coloured diamonds are available in an unlimited amount of hues and intensities. The crystallisation process, trace minerals present in the soil, heat, and natural radiation levels in the earth’s mantle are some of the many factors that make up a stone’s colouring. Because scientists are unable to observe natural diamonds being formed, the exact properties that are required to create a specific coloured diamond are almost impossible to determine.

Natural coloured diamonds are available in 11 base colours forming the diamond colour chart; yellow, green, brown, orange, purple, pink, blue, red, violet, white and black

The timeless beauty of diamonds has spanned the ages, their sparkle and capture of light beguiling all who encounter them. If considering a purchase of such sublime gemstones as diamonds, it is worthwhile doing some research before making an investment. This guide provides all the information needed on carats and diamond sizes to assist in making the right decision.

Originally, the carob seed was the old unit of measurement for diamond traders and from where the word carat is derived, but what is a carat? A carat is the modern standard unit of weight for gemstones, including diamonds, and the underpinning principle to bear in mind is the higher the carat weight, the bigger and more expensive the diamond. Larger diamonds are extremely rare, to the degree that it is estimated fewer than one in one million rough diamonds are of adequate size to produce a finished one carat diamond, hence their high cost.